FEPORID®
The products supplied by the DFE Chemie GmbH are being used especially in the Steel Industry. DFE`s core business are advanced chemical additives formulated to improve the quality and efficiency of steel pickling and rinsing. Pickling inhibitors and rinsing passivation agents of the FEPORID®-Series have proven themselves as highly efficient and reliable.

Steel pickling and the necessity of using inhibitors
Pickling
Pickling is a metal surface treatment used to remove impurities, such as stains, inorganic contaminants, rust, oil or scale, from ferrous metals to obtain a clean surface. When applied to bars or coils prior to cold rolling, the steel is immersed in a bath of diluted sulphuric or hydrochloric acid. An inhibitor is added to prevent the attack and pitting of the cleaned metal. After pickling, a washing process takes place to neutralise any remaining acid.

Inhibitor
Chemical or substance added or applied to another substance, to slow down a chemical reaction or to prevent an unwanted chemical change. An inhibitor is often used in the pickling operation and minimizes acid attack on the base material once the scale has been removed. It protects the surface and optimizes the acid utilization.

Impact of FEPORID® Inhibitors:
Better steel surface quality
• good surface roughness
• less removable surface pollution (better rinsing)
• less superficial redeposition

Costs reduction
• less acid loss
• less steel loss
• decreasing of by-products quantity (e.g. sludges)

FEPORID®
Die Produkte der DFE Chemie GmbH werden insbesondere in der Stahlindustrie eingesetzt. Das Kerngeschäft der DFE sind hochentwickelte Additive zur Verbesserung der Qualität und Effektivität beim Beizen von Stahl. Beizinhibitoren und Passivierungsmittel der FEPORID®-Serie haben sich dabei als hoch effizient und verlässlich erwiesen.

Beizen von Stahl und die Notwendigkeit von Inhibitoren
Beizen von Stahl
Beizen ist eine Oberflächenbehandlung zur Entfernung von Verunreinigungen auf der Oberfläche des Eisenmetalls. Solche Verunreinigungen können beispielsweise Verfärbungen, anorganische Verschmutzungen, Rost, Öl oder Zunder sein. Beim Beizen von z.B. Coils wird der Stahl in verdünnte Salz- oder Schwefelsäure eingetaucht. Ein Inhibitor wird beigefügt, um einen Säureangriff auf das zu reinigende Metall zu vermeiden. Nach der Beize findet ein Spülprozess statt, um die verbliebene Säure zu neutralisieren.

Inhibitor
Chemische Substanz, die einer anderen Substanz hinzugefügt wird, um eine chemische Reaktion zu verlangsamen oder um eine ungewollte chemische Veränderung zu vermeiden. Ein Inhibitor wird häufig beim Beizvorgang eingesetzt, um den Säureangriff auf das Grundmaterial zu minimieren, sobald der Zunder entfernt wurde. Er schützt die Oberfläche und optimiert die Verwertung der Säure.

Wirkung von FEPORID® Inhibitoren:
Bessere Oberflächenqualität des Stahls
• gute Oberflächenrauigkeit
• weniger ablösbare Oberflächenverunreinigungen (besseres Spülen)
• weniger Oberflächenverfärbungen

Kostenreduktion
• reduzierter Säureverbrauch
• geringerer Masseverlust des Stahls
• geringere Quantität an Nebenprodukten (z.B. Schlämme)